Board of Directors



Jerry Fischer
Executive Vice President
HSL Properties


Paul Gray
Chair, Valley
General Manager
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa



Joe Iturri
Chair, Education
General Manager
Caesars Republic Scottsdale


SueAnn Lemon
Chair, Southern AZ

Vice President, Sales & Marketing
Choice Region 12 Co-op/Focus Hospitality Management


Jeff Meyer
Chair, Finance
Past President
Cactus League Baseball Association


Bettina Nava
Chair, Government Affairs
OH Strategic Communications


Dan Rama
Chair, Membership & Events
Principal & Managing Partner
NewGen Worldwide


Linda Brady
Executive Committee
Senior Government
Relations Representative


Stan Kantowski
Executive Committee
Managing Director Enchantment Resort & Mii Amo


Ron Price
Executive Committee
President & CEO
Visit Phoenix


Rachel Sacco
Executive Committee
President & CEO
Experience Scottsdale


 Kim Grace Sabow
President & CEO
Arizona Lodging & Tourism Association 



Dharmesh Ahir
Southwest Regional Chair

Ghee Alexander

Chief Operating Officer
Desert Hospitality Management


Steve Barclay
Executive Director
Beer & Wine Distributors of AZ


Danette Bewley
President & CEO
Tucson Airport Authority


Patrick Connors
General Manager
Hilton Phoenix Resort at the Peak


Michelle Conway
President & CEO
Sedona Chamber of Commerce & Tourism Bureau


Kevin Cooper
Vice President/GM Arizona Group Enterprise Holdings


Steve Eberhart
General Manager
Renaissance Glendale Hotel & Spa

Herschel Fink

Government Affairs Representative
Arizona Public Service


Shelby Francom
General Manager
Hilton El Conquistador Tucson
A Hilton Resort

Felipe Garcia

President & CEO
Visit Tucson


Marc Garcia
President & CEO
Visit Mesa

John Graham

Chairman and CEO
Sunbelt Holdings


Geoffrey Grey
Managing Director & GM
The Global Ambassador



Sherry Henry
Director of Sales
Grace Hospitality Group


Rick Huffman
President & CEO


 Patti Hunt 
Corporate Director of Operations
Stanford Hotels Corporation


Kevin Kelly
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain


Matt Ligouri
Manager, Public Affairs
Southwest Gas


Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Aiden by Best Western Sedona



Paige Lund
General Manager
JW Marriott Desert Ridge
Resort & Spa


Chad Makovsky
Director of Aviation Services
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport


Gregg Martinez
Economic Development Coordinator, City of Page
and President & CEO of Visit Page


Jack McCain
Director, State and Local Government Affairs (PHX)
American Airlines


Robb McCreary
Hotel Director
Casino Arizona/ Talking Stick


Ash Patel
President & CEO
Southwest Hospitality Management

Leo Percopo

Area General Manager
JW Marriott Camelback Resort & Spa


Amilyn Pierce
Vice President, Government Affairs
Arizona Diamondbacks


Joe Radetich
Branch Manager
Shamrock Foods Company

Don Rea

Vice President,
The PGA of America and
Owner/Operator, Augusta Ranch Golf Club
Mesa, Arizona

Gloria Ruvalcaba

Executive Administrator
Crescent Crown Distributing


Cal Sheehy
General Manager
London Bridge Resort


Kris Strauss
EVP, Global Sales & Marketing


Neal Williams
Divisional Vice President,
Venues Southwest

Nomination Criteria

Application Guidelines

All honorees must be employed by hotels, attractions, tourism businesses, hospitality or other supporting businesses that are of the Arizona hospitality industry.

Who can enter?

The Stars of the Industry awards competition is open to all Arizona hospitality businesses, hotels, and tourism employees.

Who can nominate a Star?

Anyone! A nominator can be an employer, a manager, a friend, regular customer, or anyone else who knows a Star in Arizona’s hospitality industry who deserves recognition.

What does it cost to enter?

Entering or nominating for the Stars of the Industry Awards is free.

What do nominees receive?

All nominees will receive an AzLTA Stars of the Industry Recognition Certificate.  The winners of each award will be announced at the Stars of the Industry Awards Luncheon on June 16, 2023 and receive an engraved plaque at the awards presentation.  All winners will be announced in AzLTA’s Industry Insider newsletter, by a press release, and on the AzLTA website. Winners will automatically be entered in the American Hotel and Lodging Association’s national Stars of the Industry Awards program. It is AzLTA’s privilege to celebrate the accomplishments of all the nominees and winners presented each year.

Nominations and Eligibility

The nomination process begins in April and we’ve made it easy.  Simply complete the online nominee application form and email the application to AzLTA explaining why the nominee deserves the Star award in their category.

Rules & Judging Criteria

Nominees must have served in the industry for a minimum of two years (please state total number of years in description) and will be judged on performance beyond normal job responsibilities, professionalism, and outstanding and unusual service to the property, guests and the community.

Using no more than three double-spaced pages, describe why your nominee should be honored. Give examples of:

  • Extraordinary support to fellow employees.
  • Specific event(s) that best describes the nominee’s exceptional service.
  • Outstanding leadership qualities, heroic deeds or actions that consistently add to the general well-being of guests.
  • Other great accomplishments to the industry or community.

Include photos and any materials substantiating the award entry, such as letters of commendation, guest comment cards, news clippings and other support materials received during 2021-2023 for the judges’ consideration.