About the Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of the Arizona Lodging & Tourism Association, the Arizona Hotel Foundation (AHF) is a 501c3 non-profit organization that exists to enhance the hospitality industry’s service to the public through education, community engagement and promotion of career opportunities. The AHF works to attract, develop, and retain a career-oriented professional workforce for the hospitality industry.

Foundation Provides

Support for educational programs via grants and school-to-career programs

Development of Arizona’s hospitality workforce through career exploration and scholarships

Professional industry certifications and supervisory development workshops

The Arizona Foundation has:

  • Awarded over $250,000 in scholarships since 1994
  • Continually hosted annual career fairs for high school students
  • Remained active in schools throughout Arizona, with over 300 students participating in hospitality-related classes.

Get Involved

To sustain the heart of the Arizona Hotel Foundation’s mission, we need you. With so many ways to give back through the AHF, it’s easy to find something that works for your budget and passion.

Donate Now

Your donation allows the Arizona Hotel Foundation to enhance hospitality education, student access, and scholarships. Consider investing in Arizona’s youth and the future success of the industry!

The tax-deductible contributions by individuals and companies to the Arizona Hotel Foundation can change the lives of Arizona youth inspired by the hospitality industry. Your financial gift will directly impact students pursuing careers within the hospitality and tourism fields.


Contact AzLTA at

Nomination Criteria

Application Guidelines

All honorees must be employed by hotels, attractions, tourism businesses, hospitality or other supporting businesses that are of the Arizona hospitality industry.

Who can enter?

The Stars of the Industry awards competition is open to all Arizona hospitality businesses, hotels, and tourism employees.

Who can nominate a Star?

Anyone! A nominator can be an employer, a manager, a friend, regular customer, or anyone else who knows a Star in Arizona’s hospitality industry who deserves recognition.

What does it cost to enter?

Entering or nominating for the Stars of the Industry Awards is free.

What do nominees receive?

All nominees will receive an AzLTA Stars of the Industry Recognition Certificate.  The winners of each award will be announced at the Stars of the Industry Awards Luncheon on June 16, 2023 and receive an engraved plaque at the awards presentation.  All winners will be announced in AzLTA’s Industry Insider newsletter, by a press release, and on the AzLTA website. Winners will automatically be entered in the American Hotel and Lodging Association’s national Stars of the Industry Awards program. It is AzLTA’s privilege to celebrate the accomplishments of all the nominees and winners presented each year.

Nominations and Eligibility

The nomination process begins in April and we’ve made it easy.  Simply complete the online nominee application form and email the application to AzLTA explaining why the nominee deserves the Star award in their category.

Rules & Judging Criteria

Nominees must have served in the industry for a minimum of two years (please state total number of years in description) and will be judged on performance beyond normal job responsibilities, professionalism, and outstanding and unusual service to the property, guests and the community.

Using no more than three double-spaced pages, describe why your nominee should be honored. Give examples of:

  • Extraordinary support to fellow employees.
  • Specific event(s) that best describes the nominee’s exceptional service.
  • Outstanding leadership qualities, heroic deeds or actions that consistently add to the general well-being of guests.
  • Other great accomplishments to the industry or community.

Include photos and any materials substantiating the award entry, such as letters of commendation, guest comment cards, news clippings and other support materials received during 2021-2023 for the judges’ consideration.